Saturday, February 26, 2011

Basis of Constitutional Government

Monarchy (Divine Right): King or ruling class have all the rights, Citizens are granted certain privileges.
Republic (Rights of Man): Citizens have all the rights, elected governments are granted certain specific enumerated privileges.

Self-Evident Law: Golden Rule: "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you". = Conscience, Light of Christ. Not: "he who has the gold makes the rules."
Self-Government: people taught that they will stand before God and be judged according to the Golden Rule.
Life, Liberty, Property: Laws should protect the right to life, free expression of conscience, self-determination, and ownership and control of property.

Separation of Powers: Different people make laws, enforce laws, and interpret laws.
Checks and Balances: law makers, enforcers,and interpreters check each other.
Rule of Law: Law applies to everyone equally including law makers, enforcers, and interpreters.
Habeas Corpus: Right to appear in court before a jury of your peers to face your accuser.
Presumption of Innocence: Accuser has the burden to provide proof of your guilt.
Ex Post Facto: Law cannot apply retroactively.

No comments: